Gun Charges Attorney in Saline MI
By Daniel T. Geherin
The State of Michigan takes gun charges very seriously, and if such a charge has been levied against you, it’s time to take action. Gun laws in the state are exacting, and bringing a strong legal defense is key to protecting your rights and obtaining your case's best possible resolution. One of the most important steps you can take toward this end is to consult with an experienced gun charges attorney in Saline early in the process.
Why Hire a Gun Crimes Attorney in Saline?
Hiring a gun crime attorney in Saline is important because the consequences of a conviction can include jail time and steep fines – in addition to your social standing taking a serious hit – and having professional legal guidance can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case.
By taking prompt action, you may be able to mitigate the charge you face – or even to have it dropped altogether. Your seasoned criminal defense attorney’s imposing experience, insight regarding gun charges in the state, and close working relationship with the prosecution will inform the focused work they do, which can go a long way toward protecting your legal rights.
Types of Gun Charges
Michigan has a wide range of firearm laws and gun charges on the books. Once a weapon is introduced into the commission of a crime, it can significantly increase the charge and the attendant penalties.
Some of the most common gun charges brought in Saline and throughout the state of Michigan include:
● Unlawful discharge of a gun
● Brandishing a firearm in public
● Possession of a deadly weapon
● Possession of a concealed weapon
● Felon in possession of a firearm, or felony firearm
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Unless you have a concealed carry license, it’s illegal to carry a concealed weapon or in your car – whether concealed or not. In Michigan, this can lead to felony gun charges that come with a prison sentence of up to 5 years and fines of up to $2,500.
It’s illegal to possess certain weapons, forms of ammunition, and accessories in Michigan, including:
● Fully automatic weapons
● Machine guns
● Silencers and mufflers
● Short-barreled shotguns and rifles – except as permitted by federal law
● Armor-piercing ammunition
Individuals Barred from Possessing Guns
Some people are barred from owning guns in the first place, and they include:
● Anyone under the age of 18
● Convicted felons – who, in some instances, can have their gun ownership rights restored after three years
● Anyone who has been declared legally insane and hasn’t had their sanity declared restored by court order
● Anyone who is under an order of commitment based on mental illness
● Anyone who fails to correctly answer at least 70 percent of the basic pistol safety questionnaire required to purchase a gun
While most gun charges in Michigan are felonies, carrying a gun on certain premises is a misdemeanor, including the following:
● Weapons-free school zones, such as Saline area schools
● Houses of worship
● Daycare centers
● Sports arenas
The crime of pointing, aiming, or brandishing a firearm – without malice – is also charged as a misdemeanor. Both felony and misdemeanor gun charges result in considerable fines and legal penalties in Michigan – not to mention the fact that your record will be tarnished.
Michigan Firearm Laws
The Second Amendment grants us the right to own firearms, but failure to abide by the strict gun rules and regulations in Michigan can leave you on the wrong side of the law – facing serious charges and the serious fines and penalties that go with them. The state of Michigan has numerous laws in place that address gun possession, gun ownership, and criminal activity in relation to firearms.
Fully Automatic Weapons
The term fully automatic firearm refers to guns that employ either force of recoil or gas pressure to automatically eject the empty cartridge and reload after each shot – without needing the application of further trigger pressure for successive shots. This makes the weapon easier to operate and more deadly.
Michigan prohibits the sale, offer for sale, manufacture, or possession of firearms that are designed to automatically shoot more than one shot without the need for manual reloading.
Concealed Carry License Laws
In Michigan, individuals are generally prohibited from carrying concealed weapons on their persons without the necessary concealed handgun license – other than in their own homes, on their own property, or in their own place of business.
The basic requirements for a concealed carry license include the following:
● The applicant is at least 21 years old.
● The applicant is a citizen of the United States or is an alien who gained admission to the country lawfully.
● The applicant is a resident of Michigan and has been living in the state for at least six months.
● The applicant has completed a handgun safety training course that is certified by the state or by a state or national firearms training organization.
● The applicant is not subject to certain court orders and is not prohibited from carrying a gun under state law.
● The applicant does not have a felony on their record and doesn’t have a felony charge pending.
● The applicant hasn’t been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces.
● The applicant hasn’t been convicted of certain misdemeanor charges over the course of the last eight years.
Peace Officer Exemptions
Michigan’s penal code doesn’t require peace officers who are employed and paid by the federal government, the state, or a local government, such as those who work for the Saline Police Department, to obtain licenses for carrying concealed weapons (CCWs). It doesn’t address the matter of retired officers or reserve officers.
Get Legal Consultation As Quickly As Possible
If you're facing a gun charge, the consequences of a conviction are far too great to leave to chance. If this is the challenging situation you find yourself in, it's time to schedule a legal consultation with a practiced gun charges attorney in Saline, Michigan. At your consultation, you and your seasoned Saline gun charges attorney will address the specifics of your case, flesh out a solid defense strategy, and map out the best path forward for you.
Saline Gun Charges Statistics
In the city of Saline, all the following recent gun charge statistics apply to a six-month period in 2021:
● There was a total of 318 crimes, and 41.6 of them have been solved to date.
● This number is up 12 percent over the prior year.
● There were 26 assault cases, including domestic violence, and none of them involved the use of a weapon.
● There was one assault with intent to murder, which involved a firearm and is a capital felony.
Strict gun laws apply throughout the city of Saline, including in all the following areas:
● Along US-12 – or East Michigan Avenue
● Along M-52
● Along the Saline River
● At Mill Pond Park
● At Henne Field
Consult with a Trusted Gun Charges Attorney in Saline Today
The formidable Saline criminal defense attorneys at Geherin Law Group in Saline appreciate the significance of the gun charge you're facing, and we’re well-equipped to help. For more information, please contact or call us at 734-263-2780 today.